Timestretching – collaborative “layer tennis”

Things have been pretty busy, here. I’m sure you can say the same. Summer seems to stack things up on us. It starts out innocently enough. But before you know it you’re knee-deep in RSVP’s, neck-deep in quick-turn projects and fighting off monster zucchini. And don’t even get me started on the pile of pro bono work I was putting off for the “slow season”. But, before we know it, we’ll be complaining about the frost nipping our noses, so I guess we better just take a long sip of iced tea and enjoy it while we can. Ah! That’s better. Yay for multi-tasking. Here’s a quick update as I sip:

timestretching - collaborative project

Among other things, I’ve been working on my SEED Collective show in September at SEED Gallery in Winston-Salem. This year there are no solo shows in the collective, we all agreed on partner shows in order to accommodate higher membership, allow for community shows and projects and – hopefully – encourage member interaction and growth.

So, for 2011 I’m partnered with photographer Dave Urena. For the past month or more we’ve been working on several collaborative projects around our chosen theme, “TimeStretching: Dreamscapes and Visions”, which will be the title for our show. (Sometime soon I’ll have a bit of time to explain how we arrived at that concept. It was a slow, perhaps interesting, perhaps painful, melding and migration of several ideas.) I think it is serving as a great jumping-off point for exploration and I’m looking forward to seeing how the show and our different approaches come together in the exhibit.

One of our collaborative pieces involves an idea stolen from Coudal Partners: Layer Tennis. I need to come up with a more “arty” name for our version, but basically we are passing a piece of artwork back and forth adding layers as we go. We started with an image Dave created – a diptych of two tree photographs – and went on from there. Who knows where we’ll end up, but it’s been a great way to start thinking about how our work interacts visually and our explore our theme. We’ll choose some of our favorite pieces from the “game” to show at the SEED exhibit in September. I thought I’d share a few of the pieces from Round 1 here. These and other versions (You can check out what I lobed back at Dave for round one here.) will be included in our show in September. I’m also working on a huge art quilt for the show, but more on that later.

timestretching - collaborative project

timestretching - collaborative project

timestretching - collaborative project

timestretching - collaborative project

timestretching - collaborative project

3 thoughts on “Timestretching – collaborative “layer tennis”

  1. you have hit something here…..lovely collaboration….it brings more to the piece when you know two people had to collaborate because collaboration takes alot of serious work, demands mutual respect and patience……the more I think about it the more amazed I am…….congrats to you both

    1. Thanks! I’m enjoying the pieces move to new places, almost independently. I guess that is what authors mean when they talk of their characters having a life of their own.

  2. I also like the repetive use of the same shapes………gives me a feeling famaliarity with each preceeding piece

Leave a comment