Art House Co-op 4×6 Exchange

4x6 project

I’m mailing my submission for the 4×6 Exchange today. I did two art quilt options using fabric print remnants and other scraps and this is the one (below, on the right) I’m sending in for the exchange. I can’t wait to see what I get in return.

4x6 project
"Fresh Life" (on the left) and "Eye to Eye" (on the right)

I really love the thought behind the Art House Co-op and their collaborative projects. Having a creative deadline once in awhile encourages me to jump in and just MAKE. (I also participated in one of their Sketchbook Projects and you can see some posts about that here and here.) Plus, many of them are free. Browse their upcoming project list and sign up for one today!

4x6 project

Where I started – two pieces of fabric from a past project with hand painted lettering and silkscreened patterns. These were cut from a robe I did in a show a few years ago. Some more pictures of my 4×6 exchange piece in progress after the jump.

4x6 project

Arranging scraps from the rag bag into “art”. The eyes are from a piece I worked on you can see here.

4x6 project

4x6 project

Choosing thread colors for applying scraps to the quilt.

4x6 project

4x6 project

After stitching – before / during cropping:

4x6 project

4x6 project

4x6 project

And, some details and the finished pieces:

4x6 project

The “fresh” text came from the plastic wrapper on a bag of oranges.

4x6 project
4x6 project

4x6 project
4x6 project
4x6 project

3 thoughts on “Art House Co-op 4×6 Exchange

Leave a Reply

