The Sketchbook Project – in progress

The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
Hurrah for dirty paws. I’ve been spending the last few days playing with glue, sloshing watercolors and sniffing crayons for my submission to The Sketchbook Project 2012 (it’s due at the end of this month, so I was forced to find the time to start playing). Why is it that the starting is the hardest part? Now, my desk is covered with doodles and colored pencil shavings and I’m having fun. Thank God for deadlines. Here are a few in progress shots.
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress

 


the sketchbook project

The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress

The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress

The theme I chose from their list is “Ask me how I can help” and I did some journaling around that concept before starting, but decided not to  force a narrative stream  onto the sketchbook. For me, sketchbooks and journals are more about the thought process than the end result (Just read Joan Didion’s essay On Keeping a Notebook and really enjoyed her perspective), so this will be an interesting project for me: trying to produce something that others will want to flip through.

The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress
The sketchbook project 2012 - in progress

5 thoughts on “The Sketchbook Project – in progress

    1. Thanks! It was nice to have a deadline – it ‘MADE’ me work on it. They sent me an email saying that it’s been cataloged into the Brooklyn Art Library and it can be found on the shelves with a call number of 179.1-8. Not sure what that means, but I am hoping that there will be a way to view some of the other books online, I’d like to see what other people did.

Leave a Reply

