screen captures: High School Movie Edition

Easy A

Ok, so, I might as well admit I am a sucker for  High School movies – Pretty in Pink, Rushmore, Election, Napoleon Dynamite,  Heathers, The Breakfast Club, Say Anything – all guilty pleasures, the kind of movies I always stop and watch when they surface while channel surfing. (There ought to be a name for that phenomenon. PopCultureHappyHour calls them ” the movies we can’t not watch.”)  For a long while Sixteen Candles was a yearly tradition. I would watch it every year on my birthday, tearing up at that last shot and cheering for Molly, loving every minute even though I already knew it by heart.

I’m a hopeless romantic, I guess, and these movies are sweet modern fairytales or at least a calorie-free box of chocolates. They make me happy, anyway. Sadly, recent movies in the High School genre have failed to hit the note for me. Not that the old standby High School movies aren’t shallow and silly at times, but jeeze, sometimes I just can’t stomach the “helpless” girl or the “makeover” plot lines one more second. What? She took of her glasses, and now she’s HOT? No way! Sheesh. Give me a little something more, please.

But, joy! Recently on my instant Netflix queue: Easy A.  And it’s now on my list of favorite High School Movies of All Time! And Emma Stone is so smart, sassy and fun. And her parents are played so quirkily and well by Patricia Clarkson and Stanley Tucci. And there are many shout-outs to High School Movies of yore. And Amanda Bynes makes the best bitch-face evah. And Yay.

(spoiler – don’t click through to the rest of the screen captures, if you don’t want to see any HINTS about what happens, but come on – it’s a High School movie – you know the girl gets the guy in the end, right? Or not…)

Easy A
These two crack me up
Easy A
best bitch face evah
mother daughter chat
mother daughter chat
Easy A
Easy A

3 thoughts on “screen captures: High School Movie Edition

  1. Just recently saw this, myself. Actually, I was doing something else with it playing in the background…but even when multitasking I really enjoyed it. I should give it another view with my full attention. I agree about the parents- I really loved those characters. And Thomas Haden Church was great.

Leave a Reply

