Passion of Life

HankiePankie Art HankieThings have been a little hectic around here, I have a longish list of things I want to share/post that I can’t wait to share, soon. But for today, here’s a sneak peek at the HankiePankie Art Hankies I’ve been printing this week. I came across this quote on A Conversation About Cool and it struck me. Can’t really explain it, but it reminds me of the importance of being present in my own life.

Today is the anniversary of a sad day for me – the day a wild, strange, creative friend died by his own hand. It was sad and unexpected and even though I wasn’t as close to him as some were, it still hurts. It’s a little startling the sorts of things that fade and mellow and the sorts of things that stay sharp, isn’t it?

Today is also the anniversary of my first “real” solo art show – I know it sounds like a small thing – but for me, that show opened up things. I experienced people connecting with artwork I had created that was personal and raw and it was a joyful, exciting feeling to be so exposed and yet embraced.  Sharing art about life seems like the right thing to do today.

“There is no end. There is no beginning. There is only the passion of life.” ~Fellini

2 thoughts on “Passion of Life

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you had a friend die that way. Grief lasts so much longer that other emotions– for me too anyway. Good luck at your show this weekend! One of these days I’ll catch you at an art fair!
    Katie

Leave a Reply

