A long time / A short time

10 years

Yesterday was the 10 year anniversary of my first date with Doug. We celebrated with a late dinner and some wonderful chocolate cake from my friends at Magpie Bakery. The dinner was nice, the dessert divine (though I have to admit we snuck a piece or two the night before when I brought it home and it smelled too good to resist) and the conversation was great, too. Especially considering the fact we’ve been talking to each other over dinner for 10 years, now. It feels like it’s been a long time when I think about all the things that have changed in my life and how much I have changed as a person in the last 10 years. It feels like a short time when I think about how much Doug has been changing in these ten years, too, and how much we still have to learn about both each other and about life. I feel lucky to have someone in my life I trust as a best friend and a partner. And a nice glass of wine and some chocolate just takes it over the top. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

