The day, as it passes, and FOMO

Once again, I’m sitting at the computer, tying up loose ends (flickr uploading, FB, blog notes, Evernote organization, email catch-up, list-making, job boards, Google alerts… need I go on?) before getting to the “real work” and I look up at the clock –  it’s past noon. I’m still not quite done with my catch-up game and half the day is officially over.

OK, self. Don’t panic. Now that I’ve done with all those little things, I have time to focus and do my best work. Maybe it’s the OCD side of me, but I find it hard to really focus until all the little nagging chores are out of the way. It reminds me  of this recent article: FOMO and Social Media by Caterina Fake (via kettle). “FOMO” stands for “Fear of Missing Out” and it’s something I struggle with given all the plugged-in-ness of  life, these days. Caterina points out:

Social media has made us even more aware of the things we are missing out on. You’re home alone, but watching your friends status updates tell of a great party happening somewhere. You are aware of more parties than ever before. And, like gym memberships, adding Bergman movies to your Netflix queue and piling up unread copies of the New Yorker, watching these feeds gives you a sense that you’re participating, not missing out, even when you are.

I find myself responding to FOMO not only on a social level  but on an information level, too. I can’t possible consume all the information out there that interests me, but I keep trying. ‘Cause what if I miss that ONE byte that would be key to me taking my friendships/my art/my life/my career to the next level? The need/urge to learn/know and the doing/getting actual stuff done have to find a way to coexist. I’m still working on solving that for myself. (BTW, If you’ve nailed it, please share.) Awhile back, I found some helpful tips in this article, Ten Mindful Ways to Use Social Media (via 99%), that seem to apply. My favorites are: “Be your authentic self.“, “Experience now, share later.“, “Be active, not reactive.” and “Practice letting go.” All good ideas for life – both on and off line.

As for today, It’s 1pm and at long last, I’m ready to dive into the real DOING for the day. The window’s open, the cherry tree is in bloom out front, I have some awesome leftovers waiting for me in the fridge (Supper club last night was IRISH theme, a cuisine I knew nothing about, but found to be delicious – Irish coffee, anyone?), I haven’t heard the new Lucinda WIlliams or PJ Harvey records so I’ve got some tunes to look forward to, and I’m ready to pull the plug on the interwebs for a bit and get to work.

Leave a Reply

